Infographics: Minimum monthly wage in EU countries in euros

As of January 1, 2019, 22 of the 28 European Union (EU) member states have a national minimum wage: only Denmark, Italy, Cyprus, Austria, Finland and Sweden do not. The 22 EU member states that have a national minimum wage can be divided into three main groups according to their level in euros.

The minimum monthly wage is generally below € 600 in the east and over € 1,400 in the northwest of the EU.

In January 2019, Bulgaria had the lowest minimum salary (€ 286) in the EU. Nine member states, all also located in the east of the EU, with minimum wages of 400 to 600 euros per month: Latvia (430 euros), Romania (446 euros), Hungary (464 euros), Croatia (506 euros), Czech Republic (519 euros), Slovakia (520 euros), Poland (523 euros), Estonia (540 euros) and Lithuania (555 euros).

In the five other member states located in the south of the EU, the minimum wage ranged from € 650 to just over € 1,000 per month: Greece (€ 684), Portugal (€ 700), Malta (€ 762), Slovenia (€ 887) and Spain (1,050 euros).

In the other seven member states located in the west and north of the EU, the minimum wage exceeded 1,450 euros per month: Great Britain (1,453 euros), France (1,521 euros), Germany (1,557 euros). , Belgium (€ 1,594), the Netherlands (€ 1,616), Ireland (€ 1,656) and Luxembourg (€ 2,071).

By comparison, the federal minimum wage in the United States was € 1,098 in January 2019.

Prepared by: Nikita Smirnov